Overview

The economic and technological developments of any society cannot be truly sustained without a strong scientific base supported by high standards of education. The College of Science was among the first Colleges to be established since the inception of United Arab Emirates University (UAEU). The College has five academic departments: Department of Biology, Department of Chemistry, Department of Geology, Department of Mathematical Sciences and the Department of Physics. The College offers six B.Sc. programs in Biology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Geology, Mathematical Sciences and Physics, five M.Sc. programs and an established PhD program.

The B.Sc. in Chemistry has been accredited by both the Canadian Society for Chemistry (2008) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (2011). The Department of Physics has officially initiated the accreditation process with the Institute of Physics – UK, while all programs offered at the COS are fully recognized by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research.

The College is implementing the use of modern technologies in both teaching and learning through smart classroom technologies and the utilization of iPads. The College also emphasizes an environment of learning through the experiential nature of laboratory-based coursework and field practical instruction.

In addition to department laboratories, there are special purpose facilities such as the Nano-Physics Research Laboratory, Genomic Analysis and Microbial Studies Laboratory, Central Analytical Laboratory, Inorganic Geochemistry Laboratory, Geophysics and Seismic Laboratory, and the Museum of Living Resources and Geological Museum.

The language of instruction is English and the faculty focus on the quality of the learning experience for each student.

 

Jul 31, 2017

نظرة عامة

لا يمكن لأي مجتمع أن يحافظ على تطوره التكنولوجي والاقتصادي بدون وجود قاعدة علمية تستند على نظام تعليمي ذو معايير عالية الجودة. وتعتبر كلية العلوم من أوائل الكليات التي تأسست منذ إنشاء جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.  وتضم الكلية خمسة أقسام أكاديمية هي: قسم الأحياء، وقسم الكيمياء، وقسم الجيولوجيا، وقسم الرياضيات وقسم الفيزياء. وتقدم الكلية ستة برامج بكالوريوس في: الأحياء، والكيمياء، والكيمياء الحيوية، والجيولوجيا، والرياضيات، والفيزياء. بالإضافة إلى خمسة برامج ماجستير، وبرنامج دكتوراه.

وقد تم اعتماد برنامج البكالوريوس في الكيمياء من كل من الجمعية الكندية للكيمياء في عام 2008، والجمعية الملكية للكيمياء في عام 2011. ويتم الآن العمل رسمياً للحصول على الاعتماد من معهد الفيزياء في المملكة المتحدة لقسم الفيزياء، كما حصلت كافة البرامج التي تطرحها كلية العلوم على الاعتراف الكامل من وزارة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي.

تطبق الكلية التقنيات الحديثة في التدريس والتعلم عن طريق استخدام تقنيات القاعات الدراسية الذكية، والحاسوب اللوحي. كما تركز الكلية على إنشاء نظام تعلم قائم على التجارب من خلال طرح مقررات مختبرية تعتمد على التجارب والتدريب العملي الميداني.

وبالإضافة إلى مختبرات الأقسام توفر الكلية مختبرات متخصصة مثل: مختبر الفيزياء لأبحاث النانو، والمختبر التحليلي الجيني ودراسة الميكروبات، والمختبر المركزي التحليلي، ومختبر الكيمياء غير العضوية، ومختبر الجيوفيزياء والزلازل، ومتحف الموارد الحية، والمتحف الجيولوجي.

تعد اللغة الإنجليزية هي لغة التدريس بالكلية، وتركز الكلية على جودة الخبرة التعليمية التي يحصل عليها كل طالب.
Aug 29, 2017